RANDOM MEMORIES OF A BLACKTOWN BABUSHKA

I WAS BORN IN THE DOCTORS’ DRESSING ROOM AT BLACKTOWN HOSPITAL ON SEPTEMBER 30, 1975 AS IT WAS A BUSY DAY FOR BABIES BEING BORN.

WE PLAYED MANY GAMES OF TROUBLE AND ATE CHERRY RIPES HERE IN LAKER ST BLACKTOWN WHEN VISITING THE ORIGINAL BABUSHKA-MY BABA BLACKTOWN!

DAD AND I USED TO GO TO PROSPECT HOTEL CARPARK EACH SUNDAY TO SEE WHAT GOOD STUFF WE COULD BUY OFF THE BACK OF DAVO’S TRUCK- MUM LOVED THE CUCKOO CLOCK WE BOUGHT FOR HER!

WHEN I CAUGHT THE TRAIN HOME FROM THE CITY, I WOULD RING MUM FROM SEVO STATION AND THIS WAS OUR MEETING PLACE.

ALPHA PARK WAS WHERE I KISSED MY FIRST AUSSIE BOYFRIEND.

WHEN I WAS SIX, I WENT TO SATURDAY SCHOOL HERE TO LEARN UKRAINIAN WITH MY OLDER BROTHER. HE GOT IN TROUBLE FOR BRINGING A BLUE-TONGUE LIZARD TO SCHOOL.

AS A GOOD LITTLE CATHOLIC SCHOOL GIRL, DAD WOULD PICK ME UP OUTSIDE BOWMAN HALL FROM THE YEARLY SCHOOL DISCO WITH THE ST. PATS BOYS- GEE MY NECK WOULD HURT FROM HEADBANGING!

WHEN I WAS GOING THROUGH MY “GOTH PHASE”, I WOULD HANG OUT IN ST BARTHOLOMEW’S CEMETERY WITH FRIENDS,LIGHT CANDLES AND SING SONGS BY THE SMITHS TO THE GHOSTS.

I ALWAYS THOUGHT THIS WAS THE COOLEST ROOFTOP IN BLACKTOWN. I SOMETIMES WATCHED SUNSETS OVER THE WEST FROM HERE.

7 Responses to “RANDOM MEMORIES OF A BLACKTOWN BABUSHKA”

  1. Danylo.O. Says:

    Go the mighty Uki Babushka!! Awsome work Kataryna ;-)

  2. omg i am so laughing in front of pc alone so hard right now
    i love ya work like crazy u beautiful1
    dat sure is the coolest rooftop in B-Town alryt

  3. So I have been tracking your work now and then- you can see by my name that I might be curious. Very cool babushky. Brilliant actually. Congratulations.
    Kateryna Smolynec, Montreal, Canada

    • kat smolynec Says:

      Fantastic to meet another kateryna smolynec! :) My brother Otech Mykhailo Smolynec is actually living and studying at Manitoba University at the moment!
      Thankyou for your lovely comments,Kat! x

  4. hi there Kat, i met you at the blacktown arts centre and saw all of your babuska dolls, they were awesome and it was great to meet you. I was the one selling moustaches! you left a comment on my blog but it wont let me post it for some strange reason, it was really nice and im sorry it wont appear on there, ive changed my settings so they should all go on there from now on.
    i hope to see you at the burbs fest!
    take care
    emily x

  5. Shrimpy!!!

    Just found your Blacktown Babushkas :-). Nice work xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

